Independence Days – August 12

I suppose I should be used to it by now.  This has been another week in which I wish I’d done more.  But it’s starting to feel like that will always be the case.  There will always be more to do, and sometimes some things will have to slide a bit.  It’s simply not possible to do it all, as much as I’d like to.  And so, here’s what I’ve actually done this week.

Plant something:  More lettuce, kale, and chard; another batch of kombucha

Harvest something:  As always, mint, chives, basil, oregano, thyme, borage, and violet; green peppers, sweet peppers, chard, kale, and tomatoes

Preserve something:  I’ve been drying a lot of herbs, but I’m still far behind where I’d like to be on this – there’s so much frozen in the freezer that I need to get through, and I’d still like to do sauce, pickles, and a whole bunch of other things (honestly, it makes me anxious just thinking about it, especially when this is such a busy month in terms of prepping for the new school year)

Waste not:  Recently I’ve been heading to the thrift store with fall and winter on my mind (both in terms of clothes for teaching in and keeping warm) – thrift store purchases have included four books (Perfect Preserves, Moosewood Desserts, the Reader’s Digest Knitter’s Handbook, and Gentlemen of the Road), flannel pants, a wool sweater, shearling slippers, two pairs of wool socks, a pair of jeans, and a wonderful Canadian made pottery mug with my favourite lava glaze; delivered two boxes and two bags of donations to the thrift store; continued adding more to the donation pile

Want not:  Stocked up on potting soil (for indoor micro-greens this winter), rice, oats, sugar, tinned tomatoes, tuna, pasta, toothbrushes, floss, and soap; replaced a few first aid kit items; still working on organizing and decluttering the apartment – clearing out closet space for more food and tool storage, and working to get the kitchen sorted and rearranged to make food-related activities like canning and baking bread easier and more efficient

Eat the food:  Lots of salads, eggs, fish with homefries, shakshuka, eggs and bacon, tomato and mozzarella sandwiches, kombucha, thai shrimp curry

Build community food systems:  Shopped at the farmers’ market; traded pepper for some tomatoes with someone from the community garden; went to a small local eco-event

Skill up: I’ve been slow on this – course prep and apartment cleaning have taken over most of the things I’ve been working on, but I hope to be back to them soon – I now have a fantastic knitting guide and I’d like to learn the principles of knitting, rather than just following patterns

Get healthy:  Lots of walking and biking (which also saves on transit costs); working on meditation and mindfulness; went to the dentist for a cleaning and exam; received a tetanus, polio, and diphtheria vaccination booster

This week’s to-do list:

  • can one thing that’s currently in the freezer
  • add one more box of stuff to the donation pile
  • clear a full shelf in the closet for food storage
  • pick up plastic bins for growing micro-greens this winter
  • organize beans into use-first order
  • cook one meal with beans and rice
  • update measles, mumps, and rubella vaccine
Leave a Reply

