Haulin’

Every week, I go to the local farmers’ market.  Friday morning, bright and early-ish, I ride my bike over and load up with a selection of whatever’s available in a given week (I always come home with tomatoes, though – it’s practically a requirement).

I love my bike – I’ve been riding it for a decade now, and it’s held up well.  This summer, it’s become my main mode of transportation other than my feet.  But given the amount of food I buy for a the week, riding it to the market every week and then trying to haul everything home with me is a bit of a pain (and yes, the fact that I am a somewhat overzealous farmers’ market shopper is a facotr here, too).  Even with carry-bags and a basket strapped to the read, it’s difficult to make the bagels, eggs, tomatoes, cabbage, zucchini, berries, apples, and whatever else comes home with me fit.  It’s even more difficult to make it fit without squashing something along the way.

A year ago, I bought one of these off kijiji with dreams of being one of those people who bikes around towing a trailer behind them and basically taking care of many of their needs without anything motorized (yes, I have somewhat odd dreams sometimes).

Since then, it’s been sitting in the front hall closet.  I haven’t used it once, much to my embarrassment, and there were even some cobwebs on it when I took it out, just to drive that point home a bit more.  I’m not really sure why, other than it seemed like a pain to deal with, I was concerned about leaving it unattended while I shopped, and I was a wee bit nervous about riding with it dragging along behind me.

This week, though, I decided it was time to get my act together and use the darn thing (and if I didn’t like it, I was going to get rid of it to clear out quite a few square feet of closet space).  I knew there was a lot I wanted to get at the market, and getting it home using my regular set-up would be impossible, so trying out the trailer seemed like the thing to do.

It was awesome.

I am so kicking myself for not trying it earlier.

It took no time at all to set up this morning, including inflating the completely flat tires.  It handled well, to the point where I barely noticed it was there on the way to the market.  And, as a side benefit, I also noticed that people driving cars gave me a huge berth compared to what I normally get while riding (likely because they thought I had a child with me).  When I got there, I locked up, shopped, loaded up, went back for a second round, and then hauled it home quickly and easily with no problems at all.

I feel like I’ve stumbled on the most awesome gadget ever.  I don’t have a car – and don’t particularly want one – and now it feels like I’m much more capable of picking up things that we need – big bags of onion, potatoes, and flour, for instance – and getting them home more easily than ever before (as someone who once carried home two 20 pound bags of rice at the same time after a good sale, this a very big deal indeed).  Plus, I get exercise, no additional cost, and no emissions when I ride, so what’s not to love?

Leave a Reply

